founders society

HomeRecognizing Our Donors → Founders Society

The Founders Society recognizes donors for cumulative lifetime gifts of $100,000 and greater. Members of this prestigious group have shown a deep committed to DMU’s mission and vision. Their gifts induct them as a lifetime member of the Founders Society.


  • Cumulative lifetime giving of $100,000 and greater
  • Gifts can be made in support of any DMU college, program, fund or university event
  • If a gift enables someone to meet the minimum giving threshold of $100,000 it must be completed within five years of initial pledge
  • Corporate matching gifts are counted for an individual’s membership in the Founders Society

Eligible Gift Types

  • Cash
  • Pledges
  • In-kind (with documentation)
  • Stock
  • Soft credit for current spouse (with documentation)
  • Documented planned gift

Donor Recognition and Opportunities for Engagement

  • Lifetime membership in the Founders Society
  • A nameplate on Founders Society Donor Recognition Wall
  • Publicity and acknowledgment (at donor’s discretion) of gifts and the progress or related accomplishments of the gift’s impact
  • A congratulatory message from Des Moines University Board of Trustees
  • Opportunities to interact with other philanthropists of similar capacities
  • Stewardship reports demonstrating how each donor’s philanthropic contributions are benefiting the University
  • Exclusive communication from Des Moines University senior leadership
  • Special invitation to all premier Des Moines University events
  • Subscription to the DMU Magazine

Founders Society Members

Mary E. Adams Estate Estate of Patricia Aldrich
Dr. William G. Anderson, '56 Lori & Larry J. Baker, D.O.
Bradley Bakotic, D.P.M., D.O. / Bako Pathology Services Bankers Trust
Nicholas W. Bartz, D.O.'81 Barry Braver, D.O.'79 & Celia L. Sroka, D.O.'79
Traci A. Bush, M.S.P.T.'95 Naresh Chandan, D.O.'92 & Ritu Chandan, D.O.'95
Dr. Nicholas R. Conway Dr. William* & Carla Cruzen, '76
Estate of Aletha Tente Dawson Des Moines General Hospital
Dorothy M. Diener, D.O.* Bernard M. Feldman, D.O.'80 & Ava R. Feldman, D.O.'83
Kathleen Graney Finkenauer Foundation for Educational Excellence
Leonard Fronton, D.O.'66* Dr. & Mrs. Stanley C. Gallagher '76
Thomas R. Gleason, D.O., FAOCR & Martha L. Gleason, Ed.D. Dr. & Mrs. Murray Goldstein, '50
Dr. & Mrs. Robert Good James A. Grekin, D.O. & Jacqueline H. Grekin, Ph.D.*
Paul Groben, D.O.'75 & Jean Groben Catherine A. & Watson A. Gutowski, D.O.
Dr. James T. Haffenden* Marcia & Gary Hammers
Estate of Bernard E. Herbert, D.O.'34 Iowa Medical Society
Iowa Osteopathic Educational Foundation Aram Janigian, D.O.'63* & Susie Janigian
Dr. & Mrs. Donald Janower Estate of Paul R. & Josephine B. Kloetzly, D.O.'27
Estate of Frank M. Kneussl, Ph.D. Anthony C. Korvas, D.O.’69 & Cathy A. Korvas
Dr. Richard Kotz Dr. Byron E.* & Johanna D. Laycock*
Madelyn M. Levitt* Ralph W. Levy, D.O.
Erika Linden & Randy Thompson Estate of Gordon E. Meaney
Mercy Medical Center — Des Moines Alvin Miller Estate
Anna Miller Estate Roger D. Monsour, D.O. & Barbara Harken Monsour
Erna & Steve Morain Estate of Paris N. Munroe, D.O.'39
Ralph A. Olsen* John & Mary Pappajohn
Glenn C.* & Dorothy V. Petersen Marvin A.* & Rose Lee Pomerantz*
Marion Powell Estate (Harold S. Powell, D.O.'57) Prairie Meadows Racetrack & Casino
Quad City Osteopathic Foundation Mary A. Radia, D.O.'81 & Suku Radia
Kendall & Marjean* Reed Paul L. Ruza, D.O.*
Joseph J. Ryno III, M.S., D.O.'76, FACEP & Sue C. Ryno, R.N., M.S. William R. & Lelia Schulz
SEI Myrtle Hohl Staley*
Student, Class of 1968 Estate of Fred Tente, D.O.'48
Lowell L. Troester, D.O.* U.S. Bank
UnityPoint Health The Waldinger Corporation
Linda & Mike Witte Sue and Art Wittmack
James R. Woodmansee, D.O.'44 & Lorna Woodmansee Estate Russell M. Wright, D.O.'29*
Patricia M. Yungclas


We're Here to Help

Development & Alumni Relations
Des Moines University
3200 Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50312-4198